HomeBlogHalal vs Haram food according to Islamic Law.

Halal vs Haram food according to Islamic Law.


Share post:

Halal vs Haram

Food for Muslims is divided into 4 categories as per Islamic Law. There are many Muslims who are not aware of what is Halal food and What is Haram food. These include other food too which Muslims are not allowed to eat in Islam.

  • Muslim food is divided into Halal, Haram, and Makruh.
  • There is a fourth category which is known as Mashbooh/ Mushtabahat.
  • Jamia Nizamia has banned eating prawns, shrimps, crabs, etc.

Halal vs Haram Muslim food according to Islamic Law.

Related:- FirstPost

As per Islam law, Muslim food is divided into Halal, Haram, and Makruh. The Jamia Nizamia which is a Muslim Seminary in Hyderabad has banned Muslims from eating Prawns, Shrimp, and Crabs and referred to this food as Makruh food which is also known as Abominable.

The list of Halal, Haram, Makruh food that is permissible for Muslims to eat and not to eat are mentioned below:

What Muslims Can Eat?

Halal Food:

Halal food refers to lawful and permissible food that Muslims are allowed to eat in Islam.

  • All fruits and vegetables are Halal food.
  • Animals such as Cow, sheep, lamb, camels, goats, chickens, hens, ducks, the ostrich will be termed as Halal food only when they are slaughtered in a Halal way I.e., is as per Islamic rules.
  • Cereal products containing halal products.
  • Rice, pasta, Milk, and Dairy products are all halal.
  • Dairy products must not include animal rennet.
  • Seafood like fish, eggs, tofu, legumes, certified meat, and poultry.
  • Insect like Locusts is the only insect that is halal in Islam.
  • Fishes are halal but shellfish are not halal.
  • Certified processed food as mentioned on the label.
  • Food yeast is extracted from the fungal plant for baking bread.
  • Vinegar is halal if it does not involve alcohol.
Photo by Faisal M on Unsplash

Apart from the above-mentioned halal food items, there are other ingredients that are considered halal food as per Islam.

  • Antioxidants, biotin, Citric Acid which comes from the Citric family-like Orange, lemon, etc.
  • Fructose, gluten is a form of protein in wheat.
  • Hydrogenated oil, pectin, vegetable shortening.

The meat of animals and birds mentioned above can only be consumed when it is slaughtered as per Islamic rules.

  • The slaughter must involve A knife that is sharp.
  • The animals and birds must be fed and must not see the slaughtering of other animals.
  • Before slaughtering the butcher must say “BismiAllah” which means that the person is starting to do so with Allah’s name.
  • The animal’s jugular vein must be cut so that the blood gets drained out.
  • Animals who eat plants are meant for slaughter.
  • Birds who eat insects only in small amounts can be included in halal food.

It is mentioned in the Quran “O you who believe, eat from the good things which we have provided for you and be grateful to Allah if it is (indeed) Him that you worship”.

What Muslims Can’t Eat?

Haram Food:

Haram food refers to forbidden or prohibited food that is mentioned in the Quran. Haram food is prohibited and must not be consumed at any cost.

Why Muslims don’t eat pork and bacon?

Pork and bacon is haram and forbidden to eat in Islam as it is considered impure animal. This is based on the verse of the Quran where it described a pig being Rijs (impure). consumption of pork and things made from it are declared haram in Islam. However, there is an exemption that pork can be consumed if you are starving and there is nothing to eat other than pork.

Pork is not dirty but regarded as an impure, harmful and unhealthy animal for humans because of the fats, toxins, and bacteria it has and also the way of spending life rolling in the mud and its own excrement. It was even proved by scientists recently that pork is harmful to the health of humans.

  • Allah has mentioned that Maytatah I.e., dead animals who are not Slaughtered are forbidden from eating in Islam.
  • The Meat of birds and animals which are not slaughtered in the name of Allah is Haram and prohibited.
  • The meat of animals such as Pork, dog, cat, the monkey is Haram.
  • The meat which is eaten by a wild animal cannot be eaten.
  • Birds such as vultures, and eagles are forbidden.
  • Animals such as snakes, mice, and rodents are all Haram in Islam.
  • Scorpions, reptiles, and Amphibians are Haram in Islam.
  • Alcohol is prohibited in Islam. Any food item which includes Alcohol is also Haram. A person cannot consume Alcohol included food items even if the alcohol included in the food item is evaporated.
  • The vanilla extract which is made from Alcohol is prohibited.
  • Any form of drug which causes intoxication is Haram.
  • Any product or food item which includes pork is forbidden in Islam.
  • Animals like a lion, tigers, and wolves are Haram.
  • Animals having fangs and birds having talons are Haram in Islam.
  • The killing of these animals is Haram in Islam like Ants, bees, hoopoes, and Sparrow hawks.
  • The meat of Donkeys that are domesticated is Haram in Islam.
  • Eating and drinking blood is Haram in Islam.
  • Gelatin which includes pork is Haram.  
  • Cheese, yogurt, and ice cream which include animal rennet or vanilla, and gelatin made using pork is Haram.
  • Pepsin which is a digestive enzyme from pig stomach is haram.

Food products clearly mention if it’s halal or not. The list of ingredients mentioned on the label of products makes it clear of the food is Haram or halal.

It is mentioned in the Quran “And do not eat of that upon which the name of Allah has not been mentioned, for indeed, it is grave disobedience. And indeed do the devils inspire their allies (Among men)  to dispute with you. And if you were to obey them, indeed, you would be associators (of others with him).

Makruh Food.

Makruh means inappropriate, distasteful, or offensive. Makruh food is not Haram but when avoided the person will be rewarded for this.

  • Eating prawns are Makruh in Islam.
  • The food items which get spoilt or which are rotten are Makruh. These include Prawns, crabs, and shrimps.
  • Stock made up of animal bones is Makruh as one is not aware of which animal bones were used.
  • Cosmetics that are made from animal extracts are Makruh and such lipsticks and cosmetics must not be used.
  • Gelatin which is usually inside pork must not be included in food items.

Mashbooh Food.

Mashbooh means doubtful or uncertain whether the food is halal or Haram. If a person is not sure about the ingredients or the slaughtering process used while slaughtering animals or birds One must not eat such food. There are food items that include both plants and animals and sometimes it makes it difficult to understand what type of food is used or if it involves any Haram food items, during such situations the food must be avoided.

These are the four categories that divide the food into Haram, halal, Makruh, and Mashbooh. One needs to follow the rules stated by Islam and must not consume Haram food and eat halal food as it is clearly mentioned in Quran to eat halal food.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Israel-Hamas Ceasefire Extended for Another Day Amid Peace Efforts

In a crucial step towards peace, Israel and Hamas have decided to extend their ceasefire for an extra...

41 Workers Rescued from Tunnel in India After 17 Days

In Uttarakhand, India, 41 workers were rescued after being stuck in a collapsed tunnel for 17 days. The...

Ceasefire in Gaza: 24 Hostages Released

A ceasefire between Israel and Hamas has started in Gaza, bringing a temporary stop to the seven-week conflict....

A Big Russian Drone Attack Hits Kyiv, Ukraine

Kyiv, Ukraine's capital, was hit by the biggest drone attack since the war with Russia started. Early on...